I’m notified that the final manuscript has been compiled and “unfortunately, the committee did not select your submission.”

I’ve written about this submission process before. The experience of offering up my writing for publication outside these Archive realms. How I can turn “rejection letters” into confirmations that I’m on the writer’s path. These “best of luck” responses are merely markers on the trail that prove I am writing…and submitting.

So this most recent “thank you, but no thank you” communication arrives yesterday. But there’s a twist in this submission plot. A slight re-write of the script.

They want my photos. All of what I sent.

Not only was this anthology seeking writing, they were also asking for photographs. After combing through every comma of my written pieces, I casually changed color photos to black and white to fit their format. Gave them each a simple name and attached them to my emailed submission. They were like the garnish on the plate of the entrée. A side note.

I guess they liked them. Or with all of these writers sending in their words, they were short on images and needed anything they could get. It really doesn’t matter why. I’m honored to be included in this publication, in whatever medium my artistic expression is received.

So the storyline has shifted. Submission accepted. This is new. And curious, as the pieces received were not quite what I had envisioned. Whoever is writing this script, I like the surprise tactic. An intriguing plot. You might say they’ve got me.

As I’ve been contemplating the measure of words – how much, how little – this small nod to the power of the photo gets my attention.

Perhaps I’ll stop the alphabet here. You know what they say a picture’s worth.

Jessica Dofflemyer ~ all rights reserved
Jessica Dofflemyer ~ all rights reserved
Jessica Dofflemyer ~ all rights reserved
Jessica Dofflemyer ~ all rights reserved

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Words

  1. Hey Jessica! Do you know or remember where you to took the photo of the rock formation with an arch? It looks like a spot on the coast in Northern California.

    – Eric

    Like

Leave a comment